

Minutes of the 2023 meeting of the TAAPT

Friday and Saturday, March 25-26, 2023

The annual meeting of the Tennessee section of the Association of American Physics Teachers was held at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville on March 25-26, 2023.

The event began on Friday evening, March 25th with registration at 5:30 pm, followed by dinner at 6:00 pm, and a presentation by the keynote speaker, Dr. Hanno Weitering, a Chancellor's Professor of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Tennessee. His talk titled "Engineering Chiral Superconductivity on a Silicon Template" was held at 7:30 pm. The evening concluded with a visit to the Nielson Physics Building for a planetarium show.

The meeting resumed on Saturday, March 26 with breakfast and registration at 8:30 am. Contributed talks were held from 9:00 am to 11:15 am, followed by poster presentations from 11:15 am to 11:45 am, awards announcement and business meeting from 11:45 am to 12:30 pm, lunch from 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm, and a workshop on the Cavendish Experiment from 1:30 to 3:30 pm.

The meeting was well-attended, with faculty representing the east, middle, and west regions of Tennessee. The list of faculty attendees is provided in Table 1.

Eight undergraduate students from four institutions participated in the meeting, with most of them making either poster or oral presentations. Table 2 lists student attendees and their awards.

Mr. Tommy Eggleston, an IB Physics teacher at West High School in Knox County, received <u>the best local high school physics teacher of the year award</u>. Mr. Eggleston worked with faculty from University of Tennessee for the past six years to establish a pilot program, which has now expanded to other county schools. The program is very popular among students, introducing them to various frontier science and research topics.

During the business meeting, the following matters were discussed:

- A. Officers: Dr. Nat Smith from Middle Tennessee State University is the chair-elect for 2023-2024. Drs. Spencer Buckner and Pei Xiong-Skiba, both from Austin Peay State University, were re-elected as the section representative and secretary/treasurer of 2023-2024, respectively. Host for 2025 meeting is yet to be decided, but Dr. Spencer will contact institutions located on the west side of Tennessee to explore the possibilities. Dr. Spencer also indicated that 2023-2024 would be his last year serving as the section representative, and we need to elect a new section representative in the next meeting.
- B. The 2024 TAAPT will be held at Middle Tennessee State University, and the meeting time will be announced later.

C. During our 2022 meeting, we discussed membership dues and decided to raise them from \$10 to \$15, effective from 2023. However, it has come to our attention that the dues collected may not be sufficient to cover the costs. During the 2023 meeting, we unanimously agreed that we will reward student(s) with \$50 for each group award and \$100 for the best high school teacher award. To cover the expenses, members unanimously agreed that annual membership fees will increase to \$20 for college faculty members and \$10 for high school teachers, beginning in 2024. The following table shows the estimation of future budget for the organization.

Items	Costs	Dues	
Best Student Poster Award	\$50	Membership	\$20
Second Best Student Poster Award	\$50	Attendees	15-20
Best Oral Presentation Award	\$50		
Second Best Oral Presentation Award	\$50		
Best High School Physics Teacher			
Award	\$100		
Website Maintenance	\$80		
		Estimated	
Total Cost	\$380	Dues	\$300-\$400

We also discussed changing the way we collect dues. In the past, we collected fees during our annual meetings on-site, thus only the meeting attendees paid their dues each year.

It is suggested that we separate paying membership dues from paying for meeting registration to encourage more members to pay dues even if they don't attend our annual meetings. A PayPal account has been set up for the organization, allowing more members to pay their dues online.

Another issue discussed during the meeting was whether we should award the teacher nominated for the best high school physics teacher of the year if he/she is unable to attend the meeting. After careful consideration, it was decided that we will award the teacher, regardless of his/her attendance at the meeting.

Finally, we would like to thank Dr. Christine Cheney and the University of Tennessee at Knoxville for hosting this meeting! The construction of the Cavendish apparatuses is impressive! We love Knoxville, what a vibrant city!

Pei Xiong-Skiba Secretary/Treasurer, TAAPT March 27th, 2023

Table 1 - List of Faculty Attendees

Tuble 1 Bist of 1 dealty 1 ttendees				
Last Name:	First Name:	Affiliation:	Presentation	
Breinig	Marianne	The University of Tennessee		
Buckner	Spencer	Austin Peay State University		
Burks	Geoffrey	Tennessee State University	Oral	
Carter	Brooke	L&N STEM Academy		
Cheney	Christine	University of Tennessee		

Donev	Eugenii	Austin Peay State University Poster by student		
Farvin	Allen	Pellissippi State Community College		
Jones	Kate	University of Tennessee		
Kochat	Suja	Christian Brothers University Poster		
Laing	Blake	Southern Adventist University	Oral, with student	
Lindsay	Sean	University of Tennessee	Oral	
Naseri	Neda	Middle Tennessee state university	Oral	
Parks	James	University of Tennessee, Knoxville		
Pokhrel	Nau Raj	University of Tennessee, Knoxville		
SamarBakhsh	Abdorreza	Middle Tennessee State University	Oral	
Sternberg	James	Hardin Valley Academy		
Terletska	Hanna	Middle Tennessee State University	Oral	
Varriano	John	Christian Brothers University	Oral	
Wang	Ling Jun	University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Oral, via zoom		
Wolff	Nicholas	Lane College	Posters by students	
Xiong-Skiba	Pei	Austin Peay State University	•	

Table 2 - List of Student Attendees and Awards

Last Name	First Name	Affiliation	Presentation	Awards
Davis	Daniel	Lane College	Poster	
Filinovich	Anjali	Southern Adventist University	Oral	The First-Best Oral Presentation
Helms	Malliyah	Lane College	Poster	The Second-Best Poster Presentation
Коре	Eden	Austin Peay State University		
Lanier	Meleah	Austin Peay State University	Poster	The First-Best Poster Presentation
MacLeod	Jonathan	Austin Peay State University		
Rye	Joshua	Austin Peay State University	Poster	The Third-Best Poster Presentation
Winston	Ariel	Lane College	Poster	