

Minutes of the 2021 meeting of the TAAPT

Joint Meeting of the NCS-AAPT and TAAPT Saturday, April 10, 2021 Virtual Meeting via Zoom

The 2020 Tennessee section of Association of American Physics Teachers' annual meeting was originally scheduled to be held at MTSU, but was cancelled the week before the scheduled meeting day because of the sudden impact of COVI-19 worldwide. Although many people started receiving COVI-19 vaccines in the spring of 2021, traveling or gathering in doors in large groups are still considered to be less safe. We happily accepted the proposal from Dr. Grant Thompson, the chair of North Carolina Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers, to hold a joint virtual zoom conference this year.

The joint meeting started at 8:00 am and ended slightly before 2:00 pm (east time). At the peak time, 44 people attended the zoom meeting. Table 1 at the end of this document shows the attendees from TN section and Table 2 shows all the presenters and the titles of their talks.

Following the joint meeting, the members of TAAPT section conducted a business meeting on the following agendas:

- 1) Location for the annual meeting of 2022. It was agreed that Dr. Spencer Buckner would contact Dr. Nat Smith from MTSU regarding whether he could be the chair for the 2022 meeting since the 2020 meeting was cancelled unexpectedly. If he agrees, he would be the chair-elect for the year of 2021-2022. (See Table 3)
- 2) Dr. Christine Cheney from University of Knoxville is the chair-elect for 2022-2023. (See Table 3)
- 3) Drs. Spencer Buckner and Pei Xiong-Skiba, both from Austin Peay State University, were re-elected as the section representative and secretary/treasurer (2021-2022), respectively. (See Table 3)
- 4) No membership fee collected this year since no actual expenses associated with a virtual meeting. Dr. Cahit Erkal of University of Tennessee at Martin (chair-elect for 2020-2021) contacted NCS-AATP regarding the cost of student awards after the meeting and was informed that TAAPT did not need to share this cost.
- 5) Dr. Eugenii Doneve from APSU indicated that he might be able to find someone to assist us to setup a "permanent" website for TAAPT.
- 6) The meeting approved Dr. Pei Xiong-Skiba's Financial Report for 2019-2021. Minutes for Meeting 2019 would be emailed to the meeting attendees later, seeking for approval.
- 7) Dr. Spencer Buckner briefly reported the past and future national AAPT meeting dates and locations.

Finally, we would like to thank Drs. Grant Thompson and Cahit Erkal to cohost this annual meeting. We all felt that it was a successful zoom meeting.

Pei Xiong-Skiba Secretary/Treasurer, TAAPT April 17th, 2021

Table 1 - List of Attendees (TAAPT Section)

Faculty	Affiliations	Email
Cahit Erkal	University of Tennessee at Martin	cerkal@utm.edu
Krista McBride	Belmont University	krista.mcbride@belmont.edu
Christine Cheney	University of Tennessee	ccheney@utk.edu
James Parks	University of Tennessee, Knoxville	jeparks@utk.edu
Spencer Buckner	Austin Peay State University	buckners@apsu.edu
Justin Oelgoetz	Austin Peay State University	oelgoetzj@apsu.edu
Jason Alexander	University of Tennessee at Martin	jalexa39@utm.edu
Eugenii Doneve	Austin Peay State University	doneve@apsu.edu
Pei Xiong-Skiba	Austin Peay State University	xiongp@apsu.edu
Jason Alexander	University of Tennessee at Martin	jalexa39@utm.edu
Chuck Higgins	Middle Tennessee State University	chiggins@mtsu.edu
Shephard Gordan		
Abebe Kebede		
Students		
James Forsythe	Austin Peay State University	jforsythe4@my.apsu.edu
Killian Prue	Austin Peay State University	kprue@my.apsu.edu
Jason Rivas	Austin Peay State University	jrivas5@my.apsu.edu
Nicholas Cottingham	Austin Peay State University	ncottingham@my.apsu.edu

Table 2 (a) - List of Workshop Presenters:

Presenters (Oral)	Titles
Don Smith Guilford College	Interactive Introduction to the Concepts of Machine Learning
Joe Heafner Catawba Valley Community College	Incorporating LaTeX and GlowScript Into Your Courses

Table 2 (b) - List of Poster Presenters:

Presenters	Titles	
Killian Prue	Temperature Dependence of Photocurrent in Mixed Ge-Sb-Bi- Based	
Austin Peay State University	Chalcogenide Thin Films	
Chuck Higgins	Radio JOVE Project and NASA Citizen Science	
Middle Tennessee State University		
James Forsythe	Compositional and Temperature Dependence of Indirect Optical Gap in As-	
Austin Peay State University	S Glasses	
Eric Eaton	Argumentation Practices in the Physics Labs: Linking Growth to Time on	
East Carolina University	Task	

	son Rivas y State University	Compiling Dissolve on PSC's Bridges-2 HPC Resource
_,,,,	arcia-Guzman	Case Study Analysis of Eigenvector Continuation Method Applied to the
University of Nort	th Carolina at Pembroke	Anharmonic Oscillator
	ck Higgins ssee State University	Radio JOVE Project and NASA Citizen Science

Table 2 (c) - List of Contributors (Oral Presenters):

Oral Presenters	Titles	
Cahit Erkal The University of Tennessee at Martin	Reflections on Online Introductory Physics Teaching During the Pandemic	
Joe Heafner Catawba Valley Community College	Using Oral Interviews as Assessments	
Stefan Jeglinski University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill	Restructuring a Microcontrollers Course in Pandemic Times: Lessons and Opportunities	
Kristen Thompson Davidson College	Google Sites as a Platform for Student Portfolios and Lab Notebooks	
Kerri Prinos Davidson College Developing a User-Friendly Program for Gold Nanoparticle Stud		
Nicholas Cottingham Austin Peay State University	Measured Versus Simulated Light Transmission Through Nanohole Arrays in Gold and Vanadium	
Krista McBride Belmont University	Customizing a Physics Course for Non-physics Majors Using Relevant Problems	
Michael Ruiz University of North Carolina at Asheville	The YouTube Channel Doctorphys	

Table 3 - Officers of Elect (2021-2022):

Names	Titles
Nat Smith of Middle Tennessee State University	Chair of Elect (2021-2022)
Christin Cheney of University of TN at Knoxville	Chair of Elect (2022-2023)
Spencer Buckner of Austin Peay State University	Section Representative (2021-2022)
Pei Xiong-Skiba of Austin Peay State University	Secretary/Treasurer (2021-2022)